Gregory O'Donoghue Prize
& pre-booked reading


O'Donoghue Prize

Admission: €6 / €5 concessions
14 February 2015 at 4pm, Cork Arts Theatre

Ticket Options


The Munster Literature Centre holds an annual competition for an international poetry prize for a single poem, named in honour of a late Irish poet long associated with the Centre. At this event, the winner will give a reading, along with a selection of poets who have yet to publish a first collection.

Breda Wall Ryan has won the 2015 Gregory O'Donoghue International Poetry Competition, and will be reading at an event with a group of specially selected emerging poets: Jane Clarke, Stephen Connolly, Andrew Eaton, Róisín Kelly and Paul McMahon.



Gregory O'Donoghue Prize-winner: Breda Wall Ryan


Breda Wall RyanBreda Wall Ryan is an award-winning poet and writer, and this year's recipient of the Gregory O'Donoghue International Poetry Prize. Originally from a farm in Co. Waterford, she lived in Cork before moving to Bray, Co Wicklow with her family. Her debut poetry collection In a Hare’s Eye will be published by Doire Press in 2015. Breda was selected for the Poetry Ireland Introductions Series in 2014 and was awarded 2nd in the Patrick Kavanagh Award for an unpublished poetry collection and Third Prize in The Rialto/RSPB Nature Poetry Competition. In 2013 she won Over the Edge New Writer of the Year, Dromineer Literary Festival Poetry Contest, the iYeats Poetry Contest, and Poets Meet Painters Competition, as well as several other awards. She has had poems published in Orbis, Mslexia, Magma, Crannóg, Skylight 47, Fish Anthology and The Rialto. Her poem Starveling was nominated for a Pushcart Prize and she has had two poems, Grushie and The Inkling nominated for a Forward Prize.


Pre-book Poetry Introductions Reading


Jane Clarke

Jane ClarkeOriginally from a farm in Roscommon, Jane Clarke now lives in Co. Wicklow. She holds a BA in English and Philosophy from Trinity College, Dublin and an MPhil in Writing from the University of South Wales. She has a background in psychoanalytic psychotherapy and combines writing with her work as a management consultant in not-for-profit organisations. She received the Listowel Writer’s Week Poetry Collection Prize in 2014 and has won a number of other prizes including Trocaire/Poetry Ireland Competition (2014), Poems for Patience (2013), iYeats (2010), Listowel Writers Week (2007). Her first collection, The River, will be published by Bloodaxe Books in 2015. Her poems have been published and anthologised in The Irish Times, The Irish Independent, The Stinging Fly, Cyphers, The Shop, and Tokens for the Foundlings Anthology, ed. Tony Curtis (Seren Books, 2012), among many others.


Stephen Connolly

Stephen Connolly

Stephen Connolly is from Belfast, where he studies and teaches in the Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry at Queen's University.

Photo © Malachi O'Doherty.



Andrew Eaton

Andrew Eaton

Andrew Deloss Eaton lives in Belfast, Northern Ireland. His poems have been recently published in or are forthcoming from Crab Orchard Review, Magma, Narrative and Poetry Ireland Review.





Róisín Kelly

Róisín KellyRoisin Kelly was born in Northern Ireland but has mostly lived south of the border. After completing her MA in Writing at NUI Galway, she moved to Cork City where she currently lives and writes. Previous and upcoming publications that feature her work include the Bohemyth, Wordlegs, Mslexia, HARK Magazine, The Stinging Fly and The Interpreter's House. In 2014 she was placed second in the Dromineer Literary Festival poetry competition, and third in the Red Line Book Festival poetry festival.


Paul McMahon

Paul McMahonPaul McMahon's poetry has been widely published in journals such as The Threepenny ReviewThe Salt Anthology of New WritingThe Montreal International Poetry Prize Global AnthologyThe Moth, Hennessy New Irish Writing, Southword, and The Poetry Saltzburg Review. His prizes for poetry include The Ballymaloe International Poetry Prize (2012; judge Matthew Sweeney), The Nottingham Poetry Open Competition (2012; judge Neil Astley), The Westport Poetry Prize (2012; judge Dermot Healy), The Golden Pen Poetry Prize and second prize in both The Basil Bunting Poetry Award and The Salt International Poetry Award, among many others. In 2014 he was Highly Commended for both The Patrick Kavanagh Award and the Fool For Poetry Chapbook Competition. He was awarded a Literature Bursary for poetry from The Arts Council of Ireland (2013) and was selected for the Poetry Ireland Introductions Series (2014).




More about the Gregory O'Donoghue prize.



Cork Spring Poetry Festival